How God has revealed Himself to me in Cincinnati

I’m going start by saying that if I didn’t have God to lean on during my transition from college to Cincinnati, I wouldn’t have been able to do it. I don’t how I would do it, to be completely honest.

Because at times, He’s the only thing I have to lean on. I’ve had several nights of complete despair and sadness and loneliness and missing Athens and college, and on those nights, really the only thing I can do is pray. Pray that God will send His Spirit to comfort me and get me through it.

There have been times when my mind is in absolute turmoil, and I’m left with my thoughts. So I turn to Psalm 13, where verses 5 and 6 proclaim, “But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, for He has been good to me.” I turn also to Colossians 1:17, which says, “He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.”

It’s these nights when I need to simply focus, and know that God is sovereign, and He is good. The first half of Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still, and know that I am God.” Exodus 14:14 says, “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

When I get past the turmoil of my mind, I think about just how richly He has blessed me throughout this transition. John 1:16 says, “From the fullness of his grace we have all received one blessing after another,” and I have certainly been blessed.

I don’t always realize it, but I am. I am lonely down here in Cincinnati a lot of the time, but I realize that it could certainly be worse. I have had the blessing of making a few friends, even if I only see them once or twice a week. These friends wouldn’t have come into my life had it not been for Christ. I stayed with one of these friends for three weeks when I first moved down here, and that was truly a blessing, because had I not stayed with her, I wouldn’t have been able to meet anybody. This whole arrangement came about because we have a mutual friend, Sarah, who put us in contact with each other, and I had met Sarah through Cru. If I really think about it, without Christ in my life, I wouldn’t have been a part of Cru, and I wouldn’t have known Sarah well enough for her to put me in contact with someone to stay with down here.

I know God has everything in my life predestined for me, but I’m just completely overwhelmed when I think about how everything has tied together, and how He’s only working everything in my life for my good.

I’m still lonely a lot of the time, and I’m still fighting off spiritual attacks what seems like hourly, which is good because it’s not constant, and this is only because I’ve put in serious prayer time about my need and desire to completely trust God and His timing. I was relying on my own efforts, and my own timing with how I wanted my new life in Cincinnati to work out. I expected a new set of friends instantly, which in hindsight is completely unrealistic because those things take time to build. But I know that God’s got a plan for me, and that plan does include friends—He’s already proven that to me with the newly formed friendships I do have.

How has God revealed Himself to me since moving to Cincinnati? In so many ways. He is sovereign, He is good, and He loves me. He’s got my life already planned out for me, and it is only for my good.

Romans 8:28: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”

Leave a Reply

